Gain admission into 200 level to study any course in any university of your choice. NO JAMB + LOW FEES via IJMB or JUPEB. Click Here for details

UI releases new grading system , minimum credit units

What is UI New Grading System?


Sequel to the University of Ibadan Senate’s decision, at its meeting of
18 July, 2016 the New Grading System and Minimum Units to be registered
for and passed by students at each level, as well as Change in the
status of GES courses in the University are as follows:

1. The average minimum units taken at each Level should be 40 units.

2. The minimum units to be passed at each Level by students in order to proceed to the next Level should be 60% of 40 units.

3. All GES courses, with the exception of the “Use of English I & II
(GES 101 and 201)”, should be made to acquire the status of REQUIRED

4. The 4-Point Scale Grading System should be adopted in order to align
with other universities world-wide and the recommendation of the
National Universities Commission (NUC).

The above implies that the recommended Average Minimum Units expected of
the students to take/register for is now 40 units (for the new intakes:
100 Level) as against the old 30 units. Given this development, the
regulations guiding withdrawal of students in the University in respect
of the new system are as follows:

i. 100 Level: At the end of first year, a student who has passed less
than 24 units should be asked to withdraw from the University.

ii. 200 Level: At the end of second year, a student who has passed less
than 48 units (cumulative) should be asked to withdraw from the

iii. 300 Level: At the end of third year, a student who has passed less
than 72 units (cumulative) should be asked to withdraw from the

iv. The CGPA at each level should not be less than 1.0

Under the new Four (4)-Point Grading Scale, grades to be used for
students who have satisfactorily completed the course of study are as

Letter Grade: Marks Grade Point

A (70 and above above) 4

B (60-69%) 3

C (50-59%) 2

D (45-49%) 1

E (40-44%) 0

CGPA Ranges under the new Four (4)- Point Grading Scale for Classification of Degrees:

3.5- 4.00 – First Class Honours

3.0-3.49 – Second Class Honours (Upper Division)

2.0-2.99 – Second Class Honours (Lower Division)

1.0-1.99 – Third Class Honours

No student whose CGPA is less than 1.0 shall be awarded a degree

Deans of Faculties and Heads of Departments are enjoined to ensure
compliance and commencement of the new regulations with the intakes of
2016/2017 Session, while the old regulations remain applicable to
students admitted before the 2016/2017 Session.


Don’t Be Left Out! 
 Subscribe to get latest educational news and updates for free:

Do you have any question concerning this post? Feel free to ask us via the comment box below

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *